Loving Your Bike, Loving the Earth

When you love your bicycle, you want to take care of it. You keep it clean, tuned up, brakes checked regularly (if you have them) and your air pressure right. People ask me about what I use to clean my bicycle but so far, I haven’t really used any ‘name brand’ products. I usually can keep my ride going with attention, water, an old toothbrush, some WD-40 and basic bike lube. (Remember WD-40 is a great degreaser but it’s not bike lube.) Still, when our friends at BuddyBike told us about SpinPower, I was intrigued. Earth-friendly and bicycle-specific? I dig it.

I’ve never noticed SpinPower products in my localbike shop, the only place to buy such things, in my opinion. That said, I haven’t really looked. I am intrigued by names like “Bike Envy Polish” and by the incredible number of bike-specific products out there. Given the damaging properties of oil and grease, I’m happy to see eco-conscious goods targeted toward bicyclists.

Is there a bike-specific product or series of products that you swear by? Share your thoughts or links to your favorite bike mechanics pages and blogs. Personally, I’m a firm believer in DIY – Do It Yourself but I also love my bicycle so, when in doubt, I’ll always bring my bike into my local shop. There is a third way…

Have you heard about bike kitchens? New York City, Detroit and even Gainesville all have collaborative bike workshops where you can access tools and share expertise to keep your ride in top shape. Our friend Monica mentioned Philadelphia’s ‘Bike Church‘ during the last Velo Sundays ride and it got a lot of us talking about bringing something like that to South Florida. There is clearly interest and expertise. The next step would be finding and paying for a location and keeping it staffed… Suggestions?

About Kathryn Moore / South Florida Bike Coalition

I'm the President of the South Florida Bike Coalition - a 100% volunteer organization of people dedicated to using their skills and experience to effect more, better bicycling from the Keys to Martin County.

Leave a Reply

